Victoria Advocate: Bryant finds her focus

Posted: July 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

Kevona Bryant’s attitude got her kicked off the Edna basketball team as a  junior.

“I was immature and wasn’t helping the team,” said Bryant of not being  allowed to play because of conduct detrimental to the team. “It was horrible not  playing. I knew it was time for me to grow up.”

Adjusting that attitude helped earn her the District 28-3A most valuable  player award and led the Cowgirls to the Region IV-3A tournament this year.

“I had heard about some of the trouble she had in the past when I first got  here,” said Edna’s first-year head coach Brett Nidey of Bryant. “People asked me  all summer if I thought I could handle her or if I was going to let her play. I  told them everyone was going to get a shot, and then she went out and made the  most of it.”

Bryant was named the team captain before the start of the season and held  that title until the Cowgirls were eliminated from the playoffs in a loss to  Corpus Christi West Oso at the regional tournament.

“She was a very good leader for this team,” Nidey said. “She led by example  and was a positive person the whole season. There was no negativity from her. I  never had any problems with her at all.”

Bryant led Edna to a 29-4 record as a senior, including playoff wins over  Luling, Giddings and Stafford. She averaged 17.1 points, 13.6 rebounds and 4.7  steals per game.

“I just went out there trying to win it all this year,” said Bryant, who  played the final three games of the season with a broken nose after getting hurt  in the bi-district against Luling. “I played with a good attitude and  confidence. To go that far in the playoffs was great. I just tried to do  everything I could for the team.”

Bryant’s best regular season game came in a district win over Gonzales. She  scored 39 points and grabbed 27 rebounds in that game.

“All of that was her getting rebounds and giving it everything she had,”  Nidey said of the performance. “We weren’t doing anything special to get her the  ball or go away from our offense. It was a perfect example of how special of a  player she is. When it was Kevona-time, she always stepped up for us.”

Bryant didn’t start playing organized basketball until junior high, but it  hasn’t seemed to hurt her game.

“I watched the boys around town play, and I dribbled every once in a while,  but I never played until seventh grade,” Bryant said. “I picked it up right away  and knew it was the sport for me.”

Bryant visited McLennan Community College in Waco last week and is  considering playing basketball there.

She said there are still improvements that can be made to her game, but she  is confident about her future on the basketball court.

“I knew what I had to do on the court and I did that,” she said. “I’m going  to keep doing it.”

Leave a Reply

